FET#1 Update – SURPRISE!

We went in for an ultrasound this morning to see what the heck is going on and why Aunt Flo hasn’t arrived yet. It has been 21 days since my last Provera pill. Well, as soon as the goods popped up on the screen, I saw it. I kept my mouth shut because I wasn’t entirely sure what I was seeing. This was a new ultrasound tech. Maybe she had a different setting on the machine that showed different densities. I have only learned how to read ultrasounds through experience and Dr. Google. Maybe I am wrong…

She first took several measurements of my uterus and my lining. My lining is still sitting pretty at 6mm which means the spotting I had a few days after stopping Provera was not a light period. Everything looked same old, same old there. Then she took some more images before moving to my ovaries. I will preface this by saying I have been having some pain in my right side along with the cramping. However, that isn’t too unusual. I did have some severe twinges while laying in bed last night…you can see where I am going with this…

I have a 5 cm cyst on my right ovary. It takes up my entire ovary. Huge black spot on the monitor. There is no denying it. It is there. In other news, my left ovary looks great…

So I wasn’t scheduled to have any blood work done today, just the ultrasound. I have never had a cyst before, that I know of, but because of the interwebs I do know there are functional and non-functional cysts. And I know to determine which one it is they need to check estrogen levels. I asked the ultrasound tech if she could have a doctor look at it real quick to see if they wanted to order blood work so I wouldn’t have to trek back downtown this afternoon or tomorrow morning. It is retrieval week at the clinic so it is a bit hectic, but the tech was able to track down a doctor who looked at the scans and said I didn’t need blood work. What? Why wouldn’t I need it to check to see if its functional? I don’t know.

I have to wait all day for the nurse to call to tell me what the next steps are. Of course I have been looking to Dr. Google for answers, which is never a good idea really but we all know my anxiety issues and I just HAVE to know. Anyways, I have not convinced myself I have cancer yet, so that is always a positive when looking to Dr. Google. These are the questions I am trying to figure out, and if anyone has any answers or personal experiences, please please please let me know.

  1. Can Provera cause an ovarian cyst?
  2. Can an ovarian cyst delay Aunt Flow?
  3. Is 5 cm considered a large ovarian cyst?
  4. Why would the doctor not want to check my estrogen level?
  5. What is the treatment for an ovarian cyst and a delayed period?

My mind is racing to 1,000 places and I know I need to relax, but I can’t stop worrying. I am trying to think positive and remember my mantras, but it is really, really hard right now. The past few weeks have been rough with me getting the nasty virus going around, our cat having a bad UTI and a bladder stone, anxiety with delayed Aunt Flo and now a freakin’ 5 cm ovarian cyst. I mean really…I want to say, all I can do is laugh at the hilarity of it all, but I am not there yet.

I will update once I hear from the doctor.

5 responses to “FET#1 Update – SURPRISE!

  1. Ughhhhh, hun sorry to hear that! One thing I’ve learned on this infertility journey is to expect the unexpected. We really aren’t steering the car it seems. So frustrating, but hang in there!

    Like

  2. Ahhh so annoying! I hope you manage to get it sorted. So frustrating!!

    Like

  3. What a pain, I am so sorry! I have had numerous cysts that caused all sorts of problems with my treatment. It does suck to wait longer; however, having everything in working order before you have your FET will give you a much better chance of getting pregnant. I hope you get the answer you need soon!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I don’t know all the answers, but yes, even a small cyst can delay your period, as well as stress and anxiety! Relaxing is easier said than done, I know. Most cysts resolve on their own, either by just going away or bursting. I’ve had both. Given the treatments you’re doing, I’d guess it’s a functional cyst and nothing to worry about. Functional cysts look different than non-functional on an ultrasound, which could be why he said bloodwork was unnecessary. I went through this a couple of months ago. I tried my best to relax and not think about it, and my period finally came and the cyst went away. The waiting game sucks, but keep the hope alive!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: FET#1 Update – Transfer on hold for the Holidays | Maybe Baby...

Leave a Reply

