Day 13 – My Earliest Memory

The earliest memories I can think of all involve my time at my grandparents farm in Florida. I used to go for at least two weeks every summer. They had a 5 acre farm in Ocala, Florida. They used to have dairy cows but by the time I came around they mainly just had a garden and their land. I remember being VERY little and Grammy woke me up in the middle of the night (more like 9pm but I thought it was in the middle of the night) and she brought me outside to the fence adjacent to the neighbor’s farm. Their neighbor’s were at the fence with a brand newborn calf. They let me name her. I was very original at that age and named her Daisy. The rest of the time I spent there I was with Daisy. When I came back the following year, I spent a lot of time with her. One summer I came back and she was gone. They told me she had been sold. Now that I am an adult, I don’t believe she was sold…but I like to live in my childhood dream that she is still alive out there somewhere.

I remember the wooden swing that my grandfather made me and hung from a huge tree. I could swing so high! That was one of my favorite places to be on the farm because it was so quiet. Even as a teenager I could spend hours on that swing just listening to nature or reading a book.

I remember learning how to shuck peas and can pears. I remember eating sugar cane cut straight off the stalk and that was the best.treat.ever. I remember the hot tub on their screened in back porch and how we used to spend many nights in their watching TV or listening to night sounds or just talking. I remember the house was so quiet at night that it was both scary and peaceful at the same time. I remember riding the tractor around the farm and the wild animals that we would see each day but they would never bother us.

I have so many memories from their farm and I miss it dearly.

Leave a Reply

