Day 9 – Worst Habits

I bite my nails. I have been biting my nails ever since I could remember. I have successfully quit twice for about a year each time and then something stressful happens and before I know it I am back to biting them. 

I pull on my eyebrows and eyelashes. I don’t realize I am doing it and have done some research into causes of this as a habit which leads me to believe I have more true OCD tendencies than I realize. 

I bite my inner cheeks. I am constantly reminded of it when I go to the dentist and they mention how bad my inner cheeks look. Again, I don’t realize I am doing it. 

  
I grind my teeth. I have an expensive bite guard to wear at night because it’s so bad. I cannot sleep without it and have almost ground right through the acrylic. If I have to do something that requires a lot of concentration I will wear it because otherwise I will get a severe headache. 

I constantly skip breakfast. This is something I have been working on for years and know it is so important to break this habit before getting pregnant. 

I play puzzles on my phone in bed before falling asleep. I have read so many studies that this is bad for you and affects the quality of sleep because the bright light of the screen affects melatonin levels…however, I cannot fall asleep without doing a crossword puzzle or some sudoku. If I try, I end up with racing thoughts and thinking about everything I have to get done tomorrow.  

I cannot start my day without a cup of coffee. Everytime I try and wean myself off it never works. I have been trying to cut back for pre-pregnancy, but so far I am not doing so well. 

  
I sleep with my makeup on. In the rare instance I have actually put makeup on, I never have the energy to take it off at the end of the day. The next morning I put makeup over yesterday’s makeup and then regret it days later when I break out. 

I don’t brush my teeth nearly as often as I should. I have gotten better about this. Most days I remember to brush once a day. Twice a day is almost unheard of. Gross I know. But this blog is about honesty. I’m working on it. 

I am way too overly critical of myself. If I’m not perfect, I’m not worth anything. I’m not good enough. These are some of the things that run through my head on a daily basis. I recognize them and their irrational basis and have improved over the years, but the negative thoughts still haunt me daily. 

I snooze my alarm way too many times. I literally set 15 alarms for every two minutes and then snooze them all for over an hour…every day.

  

2 responses to “Day 9 – Worst Habits

  1. I do most of these things too! Glad to hear I’m not alone! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I bite my nails too…in spurts! Ugh i hate it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

