Day 4 – What Am I Afraid Of?

What am I afraid of? I don’t consider myself afraid of “normal” things. I am not afraid of death, or heights, or spiders. I am not afraid to be alone or abandoned. Snakes don’t bother me. I am however very afraid of the following…in no particular order…feel free to laugh…

  • Clowns. Nope, nope, nope. Been afraid of them ever since I could remember. If a clown comes near me I will cross the street and run.

  • Velcro. Yes…Velcro. The sound of pulling Velcro apart is like nails on a chalkboard to me. If you do it slow enough I will shake and assume the fetal position.
  • “Things That Talk that Shouldn’t”. Examples are Muppets, mascots, ventriliquist dolls, Disney characters, etc. I am surprisingly okay with certain Pixar creatures but for the most part, if I can’t see your lips move and see the sound coming out of them then I assume you are being controlled by a psychopath. End of story.

  • Claymation and the like or as I like to call them “Things That Move That Shouldn’t”. So that sweet Rudolph movie that comes on TV every Christmas…it gets all my nopes.

  • Three movies (the originals): The Wizard of Oz, Alice and Wonderland and Charlier and the Chocolate Factory. No real explanation…don’t think one is needed.
  • Sleeping with the door open. I have to have the door closed. A fireman came to our school when I was in first grade and talked about how a closed door can save your life. If the door is open, I cannot sleep. I picture myself dying in an inferno.

  • Lights on behind a closed door when I am in the dark. Weird I know but it reminds me of the poltergeist and I expect something to jump out from that glowing aura around the closed door.

  • Silverfish. Enough said.

  • People being mad at me. I am super paranoid that I have unknowingly upset someone and I am terrified they are mad at me and therefore will (logically) never speak to me again.

  • Accidentally missing Jury Duty. I have an irrational fear that I have somehow been summoned for jury duty in the past few years and did not get the notice and therefore have a bench warrant out for my arrest. This is a thought that runs through my head weekly if not daily.
4 responses to “Day 4 – What Am I Afraid Of?

  1. So you’re not actually scared of jury duty, you’re scared of unknowingly missing jury duty?

    Like

    • Yes. That is a more accurate description, however I am sure if I am actually summoned I would be scared and very nervous.

      Like

      • That’s funny, I LOVE jury duty. We have Wi-Fi at our courthouse, so it’s a chance for me to get away from all my chores and sit around for a whole day doing whatever I want – watching tv, reading, whatever, no worrying about dishes or laundry or anything that needed to be done at home. The one time I did get called in for a case, it was a murder trial that was expected to last a few months. They assumed most people wouldn’t be able to do it and handed out forms to everyone as we entered the courtroom. I just had to fill out the form saying I couldn’t take the time off of work, turn it in, and I got to go back to the waiting room to enjoy my free time. I haven’t been called for jury duty in years, though, so maybe I should be worried that I’ve missed it!

        And I am completely on board with thinking people are angry with me for some reason.

        Like

  2. Silverfish! That’s what those things are. We have loads of them in our apartment and it’s a mystery where they come from!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

