FET#1 Here we come!


And we are back on the birth control! It really is comical how much birth control we have to be on while trying to have a baby! I had to wait for CD3 to start back up. Aunt Flo was awful, as expected. I was quite shocked at how horrible it was after IVF#1, so I was prepared after IVF#2. I was able to start back on NuvaRing last night. I also spoke with the nurse. I am scheduled for my baseline ultrasound and blood work on August 31st. If everything looks good, I will start estrogen on September 2nd. The nurse said the transfer would most likely be sometime around the first of October.

Initially, I was a bit disappointed because I thought that the FET would move a lot faster. They made it seem that it would be within a few weeks, not six weeks. Then I started thinking about it and I am glad that we are going to have a bit of a longer break than expected. First off, this round of hormones did a lot to my body and I want to make sure we give my body adequate time to get back to normal, especially after “the baseball-sized ovary hiding behind my uterus” fiasco (to read about that click here, here and here). Second, it gives us a little break to just breathe and take some time to enjoy just being the two of us. Fall is my favorite season and there are some things that I want to do before I am pregnant and am limited to what I can do. Third, we have been doing such a good job over the past few months of finally getting our house in order and I want to be able to finish that. I want to finish painting and changing fixtures and helping Chris out so he doesn’t have to do everything by himself. All in all, I think it is a blessing that we are going to need to wait longer than expected.


I was asked the other day if I was anxious and nervous for the FET and if this waiting period was going to be hard. I am not anxious at all for the transfer. Now that we have experienced one, I know how easy it is and what to expect. Of course I am excited to be reunited with our snowbabies and be pregnant, but I am not nearly as anxious as I was last time for the transfer. I feel at peace. I know our snowbabies are safely tucked away in the freezer and they are going to come to no harm. I was more anxious last time because they were still growing and I wanted to make sure they would make it to have a chance inside me. This time, I know how good they are and where they are and I know they are safe and sound for the next few weeks while we get my body and our life back in order in preparation for bringing them into this world.

It may be quiet on the blogging front for the next few weeks as I most likely won’t have much to update on. We are just going to take this time for ourselves and try and relax a little bit!

One response to “FET#1 Here we come!

  1. Enjoy this time together! Sending you lots of positive thoughts!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

