Medications Arrived!!

Our medications arrived today!! It was a bigger box than last time. We only got the medications for stimming. When we get ready to do our FET we will get another box of medications. It truly is amazing how quickly you get to know the ins and outs of IVF when you are thrown in head first with no life jacket. I know I have said it before, but it really is a very interesting and unique experience to go straight from trying to conceive naturally to next step: IVF. Part of me envies couples that were able to start out with rounds of Clomid and then move to IUIs and then gradually if needed move to IVF. In a way, the gradual transition seems easier and less stressful (even though I know it is not!) than just being thrown into the world of IVF with no infertility knowledge or previous experience of other procedures. But the majority of me is so thankful that we did NOT have to go through many failed rounds and heartbreaking months to end up at IVF anyways. We have definitely taken it upon ourselves to research and educate ourselves as quickly as possible so we can make the best informed decisions for our family.

All of those thoughts came about because when I opened the box and saw the mass amounts of medications and varying size needles and syringes, I immediately knew what everything was for. What syringe goes with what medication. Which needles were mixing needles as opposed to injection needles. This is knowledge that a few months ago I would have never thought I would have known.

I will post an IVF Med Haul 2.0 video soon showing you guys all the goods. I am going to try and post more vlogs. I feel like sometimes that can be more real and authentic than an edited written post. But for those of you that are curious about our protocol here is what we got:

  • 5 boxes of Gonal-F 450iu Multi-Dose vial
  • 3 vials of Menopur (I already have 7 courtesy of the beautiful Praying to Be Mommy)
  • 4 boxes of Cetrotide (already had 1 left over)
  • Lupron trigger (Prefilled synringe of compound medication)
  • Sharps container
  • 1 10ml syringe
  • 11 3ml syringes
  • 2 22G needles
  • 20 30G needles
  • Alcohol wipes

I have added the (non-refrigerated) goods to my IVF Tupperware container. They are now with the left over PIO, Vivelle dots, needles, syringes, alcohol wipes, bandaids, lidocaine cream and baby aspirin from last cycle. On Monday I will pick up the pain medications and antibiotics from our local pharmacy.

Whew that’s a lot of meds and needles! Hard to believe we are beginning IVF cycle 2 in a little over a week!! We have Amazon Prime and  with tomorrow being Prime Day (so excited!) I plan on making myself an IVF Survival Kit!! Stay tuned!

4 responses to “Medications Arrived!!

  1. It’s messed up how excited we can get when medications arrive. It feels like progress.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Yah for meds and for a new cycle. There really is something energizing about it. Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Infertility and Insurance Benefits | Maybe Baby...

  4. Pingback: FET#1 The Plan | Maybe Baby...

Leave a Reply

