IVF#1 Estradiol (E2) and Progesterone (P4) Bloodwork Results

I had my bloodwork done at 8am this morning. The nurse said they would only call if the levels were low so no news was good news. I went about my work day as usual. Then 2:30 rolls around and BAM! The phone rings. I answer it and immediately say “Something’s wrong, you said you would only call if something’s low.” She said my progesterone (P4) was good at 20.5, but my Estradiol (E2) was low and she wanted me to start Vivelle-Dots 6 patches twice a week starting tonight. I thought that was a large dose so I asked what my E2 was. She said it was <20. I then asked what it should be and she said over 200….cue tears…  

 Then I had to fight with my insurance company because they originally said they would cover it but now they will only cover 8 patches for 30 days and I need 48 patches for 30 days. Then the pharmacy didn’t have any in stock! I finally got a quick fix solution. We found a pharmacy that had them in stock and we are getting 8 tonight so I can put 6 on. Insurance will cover those. The pharmacy is going to try and get preauthorization (which working for the insurance company I know there is a slim chance it will be approved). We will get another box on Saturday and pay out of pocket. Then wait until the test on Tuesday to see if we are pregnant and what my levels are and go from there. 

Well as I am writing this the pharmacist called to tell me how high of a dose and that he had been looking at literature and couldn’t find anything to support the dose. I explained the situation to him and the IVF process. He asked if I have done any research and I explained the NIH studies I have read, the other fertility clinic protocols I have seen and the other women I have spoken to that are going through IVF. He was basically interrogating me on my knowledge and when he was satisfied he agreed to fill it. He said he was going to call the doctor tomorrow but was satisfied with my knowledge. I don’t know how I feel about the pharmacist not knowing much about IVF and the protocol. Granted it is Kroger since I have to start tonight and cannot wait for a fertility pharmacy to overnight it to me. 

  
I have been crying on and off for the past few hours even though Dr. Google says that the progesterone is the important level and that is good. The added stress of dealing with insurance and pharmacist had just sent me over the edge. I am a mess! Chris is going to get the meds now so I can finally calm down. 

7 responses to “IVF#1 Estradiol (E2) and Progesterone (P4) Bloodwork Results

  1. IVF is so stressful in itself and you just don’t need to deal with all the other stuff! Try to stay focused, take deep breaths and recenter yourself. Good luck. My fingers are x for you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You schooled that pharmacist! Isn’t it crazy that we have to learn so incredibly much during this process that you know more than the professionals?! I hope you get ahold of what you need and get some time to put your feet up and relax.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I am sorry hun! This cycle I am actually on estrace to keep my estrogen level high. Apparently this is a newer thing. Praying it goes well!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ugh! I am so sorry that the estradiol numbers are putting you under so much stress. I don’t remember where exactly you are located in the world, but I have had tons of luck with Goodrx when it comes to prescriptions that health insurance companies wouldn’t cover the cost. When I went to get the phenergan suppositories it saved me over $500. I don’t know the dosing that you are on or how many weeks or anything like that but here is the link to the vivelle dots on good rx http://www.goodrx.com/vivelle-dot#/?filter-location=&coords=&label=estradiol&form=carton&strength=8+twice-weekly+patches+of+0.1mg%2Fday&quantity=1.0&qty-custom=

    If you enter in your zipcode it will tell you prices around you. You then just print of the little coupon card and give it to the pharmacist. They will be able to use the group and member numbers to get you a really good discount.

    Like

  5. Pingback: IVF Cycle 2 Here We Come! | Maybe Baby...

  6. Pingback: What They Don’t Tell You About IVF: The Good, The Bad and The Ugly | Maybe Baby...

Leave a Reply

