IVF#1 I am PUPO (Pregnant Until Proven Otherwise)!! 

The day is here!! My babies are being put back in my body where they belong!!

I slept pretty well last night considering all the excitement from today. We both spent the morning working from home until around 10am when I had to take a Valium and then we headed out the door. We got to the clinic by 10:30 and were immediately taken back to the operating room. It’s the same place where they do the retrievals. The nurse ultrasounded my bladder to make sure it was full enough but that is important for transfer.

Then Dr. Christensen, the embryologist came in and gave us our embryo update! Both embryos are strong and one is 4 cell Grade B- and one is 6 cell Grade B. On Day 2 they look for 4 cells so we have an overachiever on our hands!! The grades signify the degree of fragmentation. Grade A is the best with no fragmentation but those are very rarely given. Grade B is considered excellent. The embryologist even called them perfect! Here they are:

 

Top Left is 4 Cell Grade B- and Bottom Right is 6 Cell Grade B

Immediately upon seeing them I got an instinctual feeling they are both boys!

Dr. Bohler came in to do the transfer. As anyone in the IVF community can tell you, the transfer is often considered the most important part of this process. The doctor has to be experienced and be so precise because if the uterus contracts is can expel the embryos. So we were very glad that Dr. Bohler was the one performing the transfer. The speculum hurt more than normal but I didn’t even feel the catheter!! I was watching the screen trying to see my uterus and the embryos but it was over before I knew it!

The pointer is showing the small line that is our embryos!!

I didn’t have to lay down for any amount of time immediately after transfer. I was able to get up and use the restroom (thank God!). I am on bedrest for the next 36 hours. My wonderful mom came over and has been cleaning our house for me so I can rest and focus on getting these little ones to implant!  She is coming over tomorrow to clean some more and my dad is coming overtonhave a Game of Thrones marathon with me.

I am officially considered PUPO!!! That means Pregnant Until Proven Otherwise. Next Wednesday we check my estrogen and progesterone to make sure everything is high enough to sustain a pregnancy and the the 16th we find out if Mildred and Ethel decided to snuggle up and stay around for the next nine months!!

Thank you all so much for your thought and prayers! We would not have gotten this far without the support of each and every one of you! From the bottom of our hearts, thank you!!

12 responses to “IVF#1 I am PUPO (Pregnant Until Proven Otherwise)!! 

  1. It sounds like you are surrounded by so much love, which is such an awesome way to PUPO! I hope so much that your little embryo’s stick!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Go Pupo !!!!!! Relax and let them babies start baking !!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Good luck!!!!! Hope they’ll stick around! xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank you for explaining PUPO… I honestly had no clue what that meant hahaha.
    That is so exciting! Praying for sticky embryos 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Saying a prayer for Mildred and Ethel!! Take it easy and read that the following can help implantation (might be old wives tales but it can’t hurt!) Post implantation
    5-6 Brazil nuts a day
    Beets, figs, peanut butter, kale, broccoli, spinach, hummus
    Pineapple particularly core
    L’arginine 500mg a day
    Zinc 15mg
    Salmon and sardines (omega 3)
    Water ++++

    Got 8 eggs on my collection today so hoping hard for fertilisation overnight now!! Xx

    Liked by 1 person

  6. SO AWESOME!!! Stick, babies, stick!!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Good luck!! Fingers crossed for sticky embabies! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Those are some amazing looking embryos! Tell those boys to hang on for at least the next 36 weeks. Anything after that is just a bonus.

    Like

  9. Pingback: Sock it to me!! | Maybe Baby...

  10. Pingback: What They Don’t Tell You About IVF: The Good, The Bad and The Ugly | Maybe Baby...

  11. Pingback: FET#1 The Plan | Maybe Baby...

Leave a Reply

