WE HAVE SPERM!!

Never in my life did I think I would be so excited for sperm!! 

  
Chris went in this morning to give the sample and Dr. Ehlers called us personally to tell us the results. Dr. Christensen (the embryologist) found 2-3 normal moving sperm in the drop he took after spinning the sample down, concentrating it and suspending it in liquid. In the vial that is being frozen there are about 20-30 drops so that equals 40-60 normal good enough for IVF moving sperm. Chris is going back next Wednesday to give another sample to freeze and then he will give a sample the day of egg retrieval. Dr. Ehlers said that when they thaw a vial they typically lose about 50% so we are hoping there will be enough of the fresh sample on day of. The other concern Dr. Ehlers had was that I might have an above average amount of eggs retrieved due to my PCOS and hormone levels and there might not be enough sperm to fertilize. She mentioned the TESE procedure which Chris has decided against and she mentioned possibly getting 1 vial of donor sperm as a back up just in case.

  
On a different note, Dr. Ehlers did notice that my protocol sheet stated that we were doing a freeze all cycle which was not what we had originally discussed. I knew about this miscommunication after talking to the IVF medication nurse. Dr. Ehlers is going to try and get a hold of Dr. Bohler to see what is going on. Next step is my baseline E2 and ultrasound tomorrow morning to make sure everything is suppressed and we are ready to go!!!

Thank you for all the prayers and kind words over the past week. They worked! We are definitely not out of the woods yet so please keep them coming! Thank you, thank you, thank you!!

21 responses to “WE HAVE SPERM!!

  1. Yayyyyy!!!! I was praying for this last night!! What great news!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Fantastic news!! I’m so relieved for you πŸ˜„

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Woohoo! Congrats for you both!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Such great news!! So happy for you!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Yay!!!! Crossing fingers that you have lots of little swimmers for your eggs on the day!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. whooo hooo! Such great news! I am continuing to pray for you sweet girl! xo

    Liked by 1 person

  7. woohoo! things are moving!!! I was so fricken happy to stop the BC I got to stop it on the 16th looks like were cycle buddies after all! When do you start injections and how long will you be on them?

    Liked by 1 person

    • I start Gonal F on Friday at 150iu a night for 4 nights. Then I go in next Tuesday the 26th to see where I am at. I am not sure when I will be starting the Cetrotide but I have 6 boxes of that. Dr. Ehlers said I would be stimming for 8-12 days depending on my response. Retrieval should be sometime in the first week of June. Something in my gut tells me June 3rd. That is what I have been thinking the entire time and not sure why. As for transfer, Dr. Ehlers is getting back to me about f we are freezing or doing a fresh transfer. I am hoping for fresh even though I have heard that frozen transfers have higher success rates. How long are you on injections? You got the jump on me with them!

      Liked by 1 person

      • They had me start the Lupron early because I already had 4 follicles on the right and 5 on the left but I’m suppose to go in when my period starts or by the 21st which ever comes first (when ever I am counting on my period showing up it ends up super late so it will most likely be the 21st) I start gonal f That day as long as everything looks good at my baseline apt. Right now they are estimating that I will do the retrieval the 1st and then a 5 day transfer after that… so about another 2 weeks of shots…and in a couple days I will be doing 3 shots a day… 2 of those in my thighs…eeek

        Like

      • It is both exciting and comforting that we will literally be going through this at the same time! By the way, where are you located? I am in Louisville, Kentucky.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I am in Las Vegas, NV. I know I love the fact that I have a cycle buddy I even told my DH and he called me a geek which is totally true lol

        Liked by 1 person

      • I told Hubby as well and he just brushed it off. I was like “this is awesome!” It’s so nice to have another woman going through it at the same time and our stories are so similar to as to how we arrived at IVF. PS I have always wanted to go to Las Vegas. Chris has been and has been urging to go back. Maybe we can have a baby play date next year! Haha

        Liked by 1 person

      • That would be awesome!!! heck ya if your ever in vegas hit me up we’ll have to do lunch or something and it would be super awesome if we both have babies to have playdates with… is your hubby going to give you the shots or are you doing them yourself?

        Liked by 1 person

      • He is most definitely giving me them. I am highly afraid of needles and he is very eager to stab me!

        Liked by 1 person

      • lol I get so nervous before my shot but afterwards I feel like superwoman mostly from the adrenaline of the shot itself lol that’s right you told me that I’m such a space cadet sometimes… just remember with each shot done it’s one day closer to the retrevial πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  8. My goodness, this is WONDERFUL news! So happy for you two!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Yay for sperm, that is great news. You had us all praying for you πŸ™‚ A network of wordpressers praying for sperm… hahahaha.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Wahey! I had gonal f. It’s super easy to inject – the easiest injection of you have the pen. Good luck with it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

