And we’re off to the races!!

(Title in honor of the 141st Kentucky Derby! Go American Pharaoh!)

The past month has flown by and it’s truly amazing how much has happened since April 2nd, our first IVF appointment. I have heard that this process can take a while but we are so lucky our fertility clinic is willing to work with us to get the cycle in before our insurance benefit runs out. We are so grateful for that. 

Looking back and seeing how fast the past month has gone I cannot imagine how fast this next month will go. We have about a week of calm before the craziness starts. I am trying to remain calm but there is so much I want to get done in the next week! Chris has been very helpful in quieting my crazy ambitions…like painting the bathrooms…reorganizing the loft…and planting the garden. These are things that don’t need to be done right now. Right now I just need to relax, breathe and enjoy this process because we will hopefully have a bundle of joy at the beginning of next year. 

Here is how the next few weeks are going to pan out…

  • May 6th – medications should be ordered and arriving by end of week
  • May 11th – IVF back up sample appointment and anesthesia consultation
  • May 14th thru 18th – Rock on the Range in Columbus, Ohio
  • May 17th – last day of birth control
  • May 19th – baseline bloodwork and ultrasound
  • May 22nd – start stimming
  • May 22nd thru 25th – Lake Cumberland for Memorial Day weekend
  • May 26th – bloodwork and ultrasound to monitor response

After the appointing on May 26th everything is up in the air time wise since it will all depend on my response to the medications. Speaking of medications, I don’t know my exact schedule or dosage yet but I do know that I am on a relatively low dose due to the fact that I already have so many follicles and my AMH levels were higher and all other hormones looked great. Since I am at risk for Ovarian Hyperstimulation Syndrome (OHSS), I will be have a Lupron/HCG trigger which is something I hadn’t read about before. Instead of the typical 10,000 iu of HCG as a trigger I will have a dose of Lupron to initiate an LH surge and complete egg maturation. A smaller dose of HCG (about 1,500 iu) will be mixed in with it. By doing this shot, it will greatly decrease the risk of OHSS so I am all for it! Also, because of this different protocol my medications will be ordered from SMP Fertility instead of Freedom Fertility since SMP will go ahead and mix that trigger shot for me.

From here on out, at least for the next week, we plan on laying low and relaxing and just preparing ourselves for the whirlwind we are about to experience. I am still not feeling 100% after the mock transfer on Tuesday. As of yesterday, I have had some unexpected bleeding and clots as well as cramping and overall fatigue and malaise. If I am not better by Monday I will call the nurse. Hopefully it is just normal and not anything more serious like a uterine infection. Thank you all for the love and support! It means the world to us! Thank you to all who have sent us socks! I will be posting those soon!

One response to “And we’re off to the races!!

  1. I think we do that nesting thing automatically! I started painting the hallways in our house and ended up sending me over the line of exhaustion! Best advice: relax, get some ice cream, go to the movies, and have fun! You can stress later! 🙂 (I say this as I’m laying in the grass in the backyard! Happy as a clam!)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

