Sock it to me!!

I know it’s been a few days since we have posted, but there has been a LOT going on!  We continue to be amazed at the amount of support we have been receiving since we decided to share our journey. We have heard other’s stories from around the world and some that are closer to home. This has been a wonderful outlet for us.

Friday was uneventful. I left work early as I just needed some time to process everything. Thursday I was very strong. I am a fixer. If there is a problem, I ask very objective questions and I decide on a plan to a solution. I went into that mode on Thursday. I took notes, asked questions, made appointments, researched procedures, talked with financial counselors and so much more. Friday, I let myself feel the gravity of this situation. I let myself worry and be anxious. I let the scared little girl inside come out for a little bit. I didn’t cry, but I did question my strength and ability to go through this whole process. At the end of the day, I was more sure in my resolve. I knew that I would be able to do this.

Saturday was my mother’s birthday and we all went out to eat for her birthday and also Chris’s birthday which was yesterday. My mother-in-law and Chris’s brother and nieces came out with us. It was great to see all the family. After dinner we went shopping for jeans as I had a little mishap and split my pants during dinner!! While we were over by the mall we went into Babies R Us and looked at all the baby stuff. The bedding that we picked out years ago when we started trying was still there! Hopefully that’s a good sign! When we got home, our friends came over to watch the UK basketball game. Unfortunately we lost, but we did play a great season! 38-1!

Sunday morning we went to church for Easter and when we came back we had a very relaxing low key day. Since it was Chris’s birthday I told him we could do whatever he wanted. That ended up being him taking a 3 hour nap while I curled on the couch and watched horror movies (my favorite)! I didn’t mind at all. I need all the relaxing veg out days I can get before this stressful process.

Today, I did some research into getting a planner so I can keep track of all my appointments, blood work, results, medication, etc. and after quite a bit of research I have decided to get an Erin Condren life planner. It has everything that I want and need. I have also found some stickers on Etsy by the Sticky Llama that are tailored directly for IVF cycles. There are stickers for the egg retrieval and embryo transfer as well as the medications. I will be ordering all of this tomorrow morning.

In addition, I have been planning for what I will need to make this cycle go as smoothly as possible. I am getting some maxi dresses since I know I won’t want to wear dress pants to work while I’m stimming. I have ordered my Folic Acid 2mg tablets from GNC. I have several books that I have purchased but haven’t had a chance to read yet so I have them stacked up ready to go for my appointments. The doctor wants me to be taking Airborne daily and also drink 32 oz of coconut water a day. I have been trying to find coconut water in bulk as inexpensively as possible because the cost of coconut water over the next 8 weeks will add up!! If anyone has any tips or advice please comment!  Update: check out my personal IVF care package here.

The cherry on top of my day was my friend Crystal telling me she is going to do a sock drive for me!! It has aptly been name Sock It To Me! She wants all my friends, family and acquaintances to send me a pair of fun and crazy socks that I can wear to my many many doctor appointments! It is such a cool idea and means so much!! I hope everyone takes part! I cannot wait to see what crazy socks everyone sends! I will definitely post pictures!! Details on the sock drive are still being worked out so stay tuned!!

Update: There is now a Facebook page called Sock It To Me: Sock Drive. You can find it here.

Much love and baby dust!

– A

3 responses to “Sock it to me!!

  1. Ah, the sock drive is such a good idea! Here’s hoping you get lots of crazy ones. Also i love this community for all those stories – it makes the whole experience so much less strange and terrifying.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: IVF Care Package | Maybe Baby...

  3. Pingback: What They Don’t Tell You About IVF: The Good, The Bad and The Ugly | Maybe Baby...

Leave a Reply

